公民

美国宪法美国公民的取得是依据出生决定的,生在美国即为美国公民。 此外,法律还规定,如果父母都是美国公民,那子女在美国境外出生,也是美国公民,父母双方,如果仅有一方式美国公民,只要其在子女出生前,在美国境内或美国的境外领地居住过,子女也可以取得美国公民身份。

从历史上讲,很多法律被制订出来,为父母将其美国公民的身份转给其美国境外出生的子女加添了很多限制条件。总体而言, 大部分的限制是要求美国公民的父母在其达到一定年龄前,必须在美国居住超过一定的时间。有些法律要求仍然适用于那些在相关法律有效时出生在美国境外的人。

根据现行的法律,如果子女的父母一方是美国公民,一方不是,美国公民的一方必须在孩子出生前,在美国居住满一定年限。当然,如果子女在出生时不能成为美国公民,在满足了法律规定的一些条件后也还可以成为美国公民。

如何直接获得美国公民身份是一个非常复杂的问题,超过了本文所能讨论的范围,就这一重要领域,应就个案咨询有资格的律师。

入籍概述

入籍是指外国人成为美国公民的程序。从我们这个国家建立之初,国会就致力于促进有资格的外国人成为美国公民。然而,外国居民成为美国公民从来都不是自动的过程,也没有任何外国居民被强制要求成为美国公民。国会设立了入籍后的一些优惠,但也仅适用于符合条件的人。

目前入籍的主要要求是需要申请人证明他或她和这个国家有关联,他或她了解且愿意接受政府的历史原则,并且申请人值得被接受为我们社会的一分子。

批准和宣誓

如果申请被批准,申请人经进行宣誓。在宣誓仪式上,申请人要宣誓并接受公民纸。在宣誓仪式结束后,申请人就可以申请美国护照了。

CITIZENSHIP

The U.S. Constitution confers U.S. citizenship at birth upon persons born within the United States. By statute, American citizenship is also acquired at birth by children born outside of the United States where both parents are American citizens, and one of the parents has resided in the United States or one of its outlying possessions prior to the child’s birth.

Historically, various laws have been enacted to establish conditions precedent to the transmission of U.S. citizenship to children born abroad, and conditions subsequent for the retention of U.S. citizenship by foreign born persons. These conditions precedent generally required that the U.S. parent transmitting citizenship had resided within the U.S. for a certain number of years before and attaining a certain age. The retention requirements generally provided that U.S. citizenship would be lost by the person born abroad who failed to establish residence in the U.S. for a given number of years before a particular age. Varying legal requirements apply to persons born abroad during the effective period of these earlier laws.

Under current law, however, children born abroad to a U.S. citizen and a noncitizen parent are U.S. citizens at birth if the citizen parent resided in the United States for certain specified periods of time before the child’s birth. Alternatively, children who are not U.S. citizens at birth can become citizens as children if they meet the certain requirements specified in the law.

A complete discussion of the complex field of acquired and transmitted citizenship is beyond the scope of this article and competent counsel should be consulted for advice on particular circumstances related to this important area.

NATURALIZATION OVERVIEW

Naturalization refers to the process by which a foreign person may become a United States citizen. From the beginning of our country, Congress has sought to promote the naturalization of qualified aliens. However, the acquisition of citizenship by resident aliens has never been automatic, nor has any resident alien ever been under compulsion to apply for naturalization. Instead, Congress has established the privilege of naturalization, available only to those who satisfy the prescribed requirements.

The purpose of major requirements for naturalization is to require the applicant to demonstrate that he or she has become identified with the national community, that he or she understands and adopts our historic principles of government, and that the applicant is worthy to be accepted as a full member of our society.

Approval and Naturalization Ceremony

If the application is approved, the applicant will go through a naturalization ceremony. At the ceremony, the applicant takes an oath and receives a certificate of naturalization. Applications for U.S. Passports are usually accepted for processing by the Passport Office at the end of the ceremony