概述

很多人因为各种临时原因寻求进入美国,例如旅游,探亲访友,上学或接受临时工作。这些人通常需要持有适当的签证,才能进入美国。签证是由字母分类的,现在签证种类几乎占有了从A到U的全部字母。

除了来自免签证国家的人,可以不需要签证,就可以被允许因商务或观光旅游目的在境内停留90天,大多数寻求进入美国的非移民都要事先向美国的使领馆申请适当的非移民签证。

克服移民倾向推定

许多非移民签证的申请人都必须要克服法律规定的移民倾向推定。否则他们的签证申请就会被拒绝。这些类别包括下列:商务签证(B1),观光签证(B2),学生签证(F1),短缺劳工签证(H2),受训者签证(H3),艺人签证(P),宗教教职人员签证(R),及其他非移民签证。

为了成功克服移民倾向的推定,非移民签证的申请人必须证明他或她在完成了在美国的临时停留的目的后,会返回自己的母国。这要求申请人他或她和母国有着紧密的联系包括家庭方面,经济方面,工作方面等等,这些联系要足以使领馆的官员相信申请人在结束美国之行后,回母国的概率要大于滞留美国的概率。

未能克服移民倾向推定是拒签最通常的理由。年轻的超量工作的领馆官员们经常在一个非常简短的面谈后就对移民倾向作出对申请人不利的判断,而拒发签证。这通常会让签证申请人认为他们的申请没有得到充分的考虑。因此,对很多案件而言,充分的准备,清楚的交代支持文件可能就会带来非移民签证成功和失败的转换。

临时工作签证

周滋琬律师事务所有超过10年的经验代表雇主和个人成功申请各类非移民签证,包括H-1B, E-1, E-2, L-1, O, P. & R签证。 请点击下列连结查看各类临时工作签证的详情。

General Overview
Persons may seek to enter the United States for a variety of temporary purposes including tourism, to visit friends and family, to attend school, or accept temporary employment. These persons are admitted under the appropriate alphabetically identified visas, which now span a nearly the entire alphabet from A to U. With the exception of persons from “visa waiver” countries, who may be admitted to the U.S. without visa for 90 days for purposes of business or pleasure, most persons seeking admission as nonimmigrants must first apply for the appropriate nonimmigrant visa at a U.S. Consulate or Embassy abroad.

Overcoming the Presumption of Immigrant Intent

Applicants for many categories of nonimmigrant visas must overcome a presumption of immigrant intent, which is established by law, or their visa application will be denied. This includes persons seeking admission as temporary visitors for business (B-1 visa) or pleasure (B-2 visa), nonimmigrant students (F-1 visa), persons seeking entry as temporary workers filling a labor shortage (H-2), trainees (H-3 visa), performers (P visa), nonimmigrant religious workers R-1 visa, and applicants other nonimmigrant visa categories.

To successfully overcome the presumption of immigrant intent, a nonimmigrant visa applicant that he or she has the intention to return to an unabandoned residence abroad upon completion of the purpose of the proposed temporary stay in the U.S. This requires the applicant to prove the existence of “ties” to his or her home country – including family ties, financial ties, and employment ties – sufficient to satisfy the consular officer that the applicant is more likely than not to return to his or her home country after a temporary visit to the U.S.

Failure to overcome the presumption of immigrant intent is perhaps the most common ground of visa refusal. Young overworked consular officers often make negative intent determinations resulting in visa refusals after a very brief interview, leaving a refused applicant feeling that his or her case has not been fully considered. For this reason, in close cases, adequate preparation, and the presentation of clear and convincing supporting documentation can often mean the difference between success and failure for the nonimmigrant visa applicant.

Temporary Employment Visas

Law Office of Luna Chou has over one decades of experience representing employers and individuals in connection with a wide variety of temporary employment visas, including H-1B, E-1, E-2, L-1, O, P, & R visas. Click on the links below for a discussion of the following temporary employment visa classifications